Le Presse Papier

Our story

Generous, free, playful: labeled Artisan d'Art, le Presse Papier is above all the personality of a man, Sébastien Barcet, who for 14 years has devoted himself to his love for the infinite possibilities of wallpaper and textiles. luxury. Demanding, it renews and enriches Lyon's heritage and revives the spirit of silk makers with creations that resolutely highlight florals and colors. Le Presse Papier is a joyfully independent and unique approach. A poetic act made of a multitude of gestures. A constant attention to detail. An impulse of the eye that celebrates Beauty and what Henri Focillon so aptly called “the life of forms”. A voracious passion for the delicate and inexhaustible energy of art.

A passionate compagny above all

In the heart of the silk capital located at the crossroads of natural land and river routes, the Presse Papier creation and manufacturing workshops are located in the historic district of Lyon textile design (Croix Paquet /Croix Rousse). In the past, it was here that the Vernaison, Augier-Pitaud, Brückert-Berthet, Vernet, Grataloup, Jean Louis Lhopital and Bianchini-Férier drawing studios beat the streets and welcomed clients from all over the world. For 14 years, le Presse Papier has perpetuated this excellent artisanal know-how as close as possible to its roots, in the very place of its birth. Concerned about our roots in Lyon but resolutely focused on sharing and discovery, we export our French know-how throughout the world.

Le Presse Papier is also five designers from the Lyon textile industry, heirs to the great tradition of silk makers. Exceptional talents who have designed for the historic workshops of the Croix-Roussen district, the Colline des Canuts in Lyon, as well as for the great Parisian haute couture and furniture houses. Gouache, pencil drawing, watercolor… each collection and each pattern are drawn in the traditional way by hand, and digitally. Le Presse Papier reveals original creations, guest collections, reissues of works by artists of the past and creations freely inspired by the history of Art. Some of his models entered the permanent collections of the French Wallpaper Museum (in 2014 & 2020).

A patrimonial preservation approach :

It is in a desire to be linked to this rich and ancient history that we also acquire and restore 18th, 19th and 20th century archives, breathing new life into an emblematic French heritage that we help to preserve and which sit alongside our own creations. We are building up a collection of archive collections preserved in optimal conditions and digitized in very high definition allowing us to reproduce as faithfully as possible the appearance of old fabrics as well as original gouaches. This preservation approach makes it possible to document an era, a society, and to restore to view the richness of details whose contours had gradually dissipated over time.

Stories to devour… with your eyes. Get closer. Look… The creations of Presse Papier are so many stories that each detail patiently tells: an animal or botanical inspiration, an emblematic figure, an atypical and poetic place, an artistic movement, the spirit of an era. More than wallpaper or fabric, it is an open book, a colorful score, a visual universe which, each time, unfolds, inviting reverie and imagination. To enchant the senses and the mind, awaken curiosity, create a special atmosphere. An idea. A desire.

Le Presse Papier defends an eco-responsible approach. Our Lyon workshops are Imprim'Vert certified and use non-woven recyclable papers free of PVC, with quality solvent-free inks. The paper cuts are optimized to limit paper loss and all the elements of the printing process are recycled.

 

Our collections can therefore be installed without danger to your health and the air quality of your interior.

You are in Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Le Havre, Nantes, Geneva, Berlin, Amsterdam, London, etc. Our wallpapers and furnishing fabrics will be delivered in sturdy packaging designed for this purpose.

If you are in Lyon, you can come and pick your order in our workshops.

The team

Sébastien Barcet

president

Founder of Le Presse Papier , passionate about Art, Sébastien is at the same time creative , narrator, colorist and artistic director of the brand. For more than 13 years, he has maintained a form of heritage of the Canuts and Jacquard looms in the historic textile district of Lyon, exporting Lyon know-how all over the world . he gives artistic direction to the 4 other designers who accompany him on this adventure.

Florent Terracol

After 15 years of work for a design studio located on the slopes of Croix-Rousse hill, Lyon's historic district of textile creation, Florent Terracol now travels from New York to Milan for his clientele of luxury furniture and fashion editors. Passionate about traditional cashmere, he also likes to renew the figurative styles of the 19th century.

Olga Ilic

Exceptional designer, Olga proved herself in the workshops of Raoul Bruckert in Lyon. For nearly 17 years within the Michel establishments which became VALTEX, she improved her know-how, moving from drawing to textile engraving, from creation to pure technique. Joining the Presse Papier team in 2016, Olga develops pencil illustrations and gouaches on paper for both furnishing textile and wallpapers.

Personal website: olgailic.com

Pierre Bonetto

At the beginning of the 1970s, Pierre was 16 years old and took his first job as an apprentice designer in a textile design workshop.
At that time there were more than a hundred workshops at the bottom of the slopes of Croix Rousse, the working hill overlooking Lyon. Pierre designed continuously for the French textile industry. Then, he would worked in almost thirty workshops including the prestigious Brochier & Bianchini-férier who printed for haute couture, more than 60,000 drawings made for fashion clothing and interior decoration. Currently, Pierre also draws for Hermès and is also a painter.

Chantal Lassieur


After studying Fashion Design and then Art History, Chantal began as a freelance textile designer, collaborating with various workshops in Lyon. She then became stylist for a Lyon silk then for a furnishing and decoration fabrics company ( Brückert) .
Since 2005, she returned to a more personal creative activity by mixing drawing, painting and illustration, mainly in the world of interior decoration which remains her favorite field.



Collections

Tradition

A collection of wallpapers reflecting our infinite passion for art. Discover

Tradition 126 wallpapers - 2 cushions - 12 fabrics - 11 art prints
Botaniste

The tradition of Lyon floral textile design. Discover

Botaniste 37 wallpapers - 3 Fabrics
Moderniste

The Modernist wallpaper collection is a free journey into the philosophical movement of the same name. “Color is the most relative medium in art” J. Albers Discover

Moderniste 13 wallpapers - 1 cushion - 1 art print
Palm

Gouache and watercolor creations with stylized designs Discover

Palm 18 wallpapers - 4 cushions - 3 fabrics
Bolero

The Nabis's soul seems to breathe through the patterns of this collection with its great expressive force. A collection of character, certainly, which favors the bold. Discover

Bolero 6 wallpapers
Berlingot

Stripes, a timeless pattern. Motif of the devil, emblem of sailors, but also symbol of freedom and humor, there are stripes and stripes as highlighted by Michel Pastoureau in his book: Rayures. Une histoire culturelle published by Editions du Seuil. Discover

Berlingot 44 wallpapers
Tropiques

A collection linked to travel and impregnated of history of botany. Discover

Tropiques 11 wallpapers - 2 cushions - 4 fabrics - 2 art prints
Paule Marrot

To create this Retrospective collection in close collaboration with Paule Marrot editions, our team meticulously reworked each drawing, color and painting presented here. Discover

Paule Marrot 24 wallpapers
Calypso

A call for a change of scenery and dreams of exoticism Discover

Calypso 6 wallpapers - 1 cushion
Café

A game for the eye a trick for the mind Discover

Café 4 wallpapers
Mo-Jazz

A collection, a journey through 20th century design. Discover

Mo-Jazz 28 wallpapers - 8 cushions
Aquatique

A sensory immersion in organic and plant motifs. Enter an underwater world filled with colors and details, in which the graphic shapes of plants seem to undulate along the water. Discover

Aquatique 7 wallpapers - 1 cushion
Nelio

Le Presse Papier invites French street artist Nelio Discover

Nelio 4 wallpapers - 1 Panoramic
Paris

“The world of today was born yesterday, in the fifties and sixties”, Dominic Bradbury, The 50s style, the complete, Parentheses editions. Discover

Paris 10 wallpapers
Rétro

Vintage reinterpreted. Discover

Rétro 6 wallpapers
Terra Nova

The models in this collection are naturally poetic and invite you to travel. Discover

Terra Nova 9 wallpapers
Capsule / Jieldé

Le Presse Papier & Jieldé present a capsule collection of wallpaper inspired by the world of architectural firms. Discover

Capsule / Jieldé 3 wallpapers

Le Presse Papier

Notre Histoire : une histoire lyonnaise

Généreux, libre, joueur : labellisé Artisan d’Art, le Presse Papier c’est avant tout la personnalité d’un homme, Sébastien Barcet, qui depuis 14 ans, se consacre à son amour pour les possibilités infinies des papiers peints et textiles de luxe. Exigeant, il renouvelle et enrichit le patrimoine lyonnais et revivifie l’esprit des soyeux avec des créations qui mettent résolument à l’honneur le floral et la couleur. Le Presse Papier, c’est un parti pris joyeusement indépendant et singulier. Un acte poétique fait d’une multitude de gestes. Un souci permanent du détail. Une pulsion de l’œil qui célèbre le Beau et ce que Henri Focillon nommait si justement « la vie des formes ». Une passion vorace pour la délicate et inépuisable énergie de l’art.

Une maison passionnée avant tout

Au cœur de la capitale de la soie située au croisement de routes naturelles terrestres et fluviales, les ateliers de création et de fabrication du Presse Papier sont implantés dans le quartier historique du dessin textile lyonnais (Croix Paquet /Croix Rousse). Jadis c’est ici que les studios de dessin Vernaison, Augier-Pitaud, Brückert-Berthet, les Vernet, Grataloup, Jean Louis Lhopital et Bianchini-Férier battaient le pavé et accueillaient des clients du monde entier. Depuis 14 ans, le Presse Papier perpétue ce savoir-faire artisanal d’excellence au plus près de ses racines, sur le lieu même de sa naissance. Soucieux de notre ancrage lyonnais mais résolument tournés vers le partage et la découverte, nous exportons notre savoir-faire français à travers le monde.

Le Presse Papier, ce sont aussi cinq dessinateurs de la filière textile lyonnaise, héritiers de la grande tradition des soyeux. Des talents d’exception qui ont dessiné pour les ateliers historiques du quartier croix-roussien, la colline des Canuts lyonnais, ainsi que pour les grandes maisons parisiennes de haute couture et d’ameublement. Gouache, crayonné, aquarelle… chaque collection et chaque motif sont dessinés de façon traditionnelle à la main, et numériquement. Le Presse Papier dévoile des créations originales, des collections invités, des rééditions d’œuvres d’artistes du passé et des créations librement inspirées de l’histoire de l’Art. Une partie de ses modèles est entrée dans les collections permanentes du Musée du Papier Peint Français ( en 2014 & 2020 ).

Une démarche de préservation du patrimoine :

C’est dans un souhait de filiation avec cette histoire riche et ancienne que nous acquérons et restaurons également des archives 18, 19 et 20ème siècles, redonnant vie à un patrimoine français emblématique que nous contribuons à préserver et qui côtoient nos propres créations. Nous constituons un fond de collections d’archives conservées dans des conditions optimales et numérisées en très haute définition permettant de restituer le plus fidèlement possible l’apparence de tissus anciens ainsi que de gouaches originales. Cette démarche de préservation permet de documenter une époque, une société, et de restituer au regard la richesse de détails dont les contours s’étaient petit à petit dissipés avec le temps.

Des histoires à dévorer… des yeux. Approchez-vous. Regardez… Les créations du Presse Papier sont autant d’histoires que chaque détail vient patiemment raconter : une inspiration animale ou botanique, une figure emblématique, un lieu atypique et poétique, un mouvement artistique, l’esprit d’une époque. Plus qu’un papier peint ou un tissu c’est un livre ouvert, une partition colorée, un univers visuel qui, à chaque fois, se déploie, invitant à la rêverie et à l’imagination. Pour enchanter les sens et l’esprit, éveiller la curiosité, faire naître une atmosphère particulière. Une idée. Une envie.

Le Presse Papier défend une démarche éco-responsable. Les ateliers lyonnais sont labellisés Imprim’Vert et utilisent des papiers recyclables intissés exempts de PVC, avec des encres de qualité sans solvant. Les découpes sont optimisées pour limiter les pertes de papier et l’ensemble des pièces du processus d’impression est recyclé.

 

Nos collections peuvent ainsi être installées sans danger pour la santé et la qualité de l’air de votre intérieur.

Vous êtes à Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Le Havre, Nantes, Genève, Berlin, Amsterdam, Londres, etc… Nos papiers peints et tissus d’ameublement seront livrés dans un emballage solide et prévu à cet effet.

Vous êtes à Lyon, il nous est possible de vous mettre les commandes à disposition dans nos ateliers.

L’équipe

Sébastien Barcet

président

Fondateur de Le Presse Papier passionné d’Art, Sébastien est à la fois créatif, narrateur, coloriste et directeur artistique de la marque. Voilà plus de 13 ans qu’il entretient une forme d’héritage des Canuts et des métiers Jacquard dans le quartier historique du textile à Lyon, exportant le savoir-faire lyonnais partout dans le monde. il donne les directions artistiques aux 4 autres dessinateur(trice)s qui l’accompagnent dans cette aventure.

Florent Terracol

Après 15 ans dans un studio de dessin situé sur les Pentes de la Croix-Rousse, quartier lyonnais historique de la création textile, Florent Terracol voyage à présent de New York à Milan pour sa clientèle d’éditeurs dans l’ameublement et le prêt-à-porter de luxe. Passionné par le cachemire traditionnel, il aime aussi à renouveler les styles figuratifs du XIXème siècle.

Olga Ilic

Dessinatrice hors pairs, Olga a fait ses preuves dans les ateliers de Raoul Bruckert à Lyon. Pendant près de 17 ans au sein des établissements Michel devenus VALTEX elle élargit son savoir-faire, passant du dessin à la gravure textile, de la création à la technique pure. Ayant rejoint l’équipe du Presse Papier en 2016, Olga développe des illustrations au crayon, des gouaches sur papier tant pour l’ameublement que pour nos papiers-peints.

Site personnel : olgailic.com

Pierre Bonetto

Au début des années 70, Pierre a 16 ans et prend son premier poste d’apprenti dessinateur dans un atelier de création textile.
Il y a à cette époque plus d’une centaine d’ateliers au bas des pentes de la Croix Rousse, la colline ouvrière qui surplombe Lyon. Pierre dessine en continu pour la filière textile française. Il écumera ensuite une trentaine d’ateliers dont les prestigieux Brochier & Bianchini-férier qui imprimaient pour la haute couture , + de 60000 dessins effectués pour la mode habillement et l’environnement maison. Actuellement, Pierre dessine également pour la maison Hermès et expose de la peinture.

Chantal Lassieur


Après des études de Stylisme puis d’Histoire de l’Art, Chantal débute en tant que designer textile free-lance en collaborant avec différents ateliers lyonnais. Elle devient ensuite styliste intégrée pour une société de soierie lyonnaise puis pour une société de textiles d’ameublement (Brückert) et de décoration.
Depuis 2005, elle revient à une activité de création plus personnelle en mêlant dessin, peinture et illustration, principalement dans l’univers de la décoration intérieure qui reste son domaine de prédilection.



Les collections

Tradition

Une collection de papiers peints reflet de notre passion infinie pour l’art. Découvrir

Tradition 126 papiers peints - 2 coussins - 12 tissus - 11 tirages d'art
Botaniste

La tradition du dessin textile floral lyonnais. Découvrir

Botaniste 37 papiers peints - 3 Tissus
Modernist

La collection de papier peint Modernist est un parcours libre dans le mouvement philosophique du même nom. "La couleur est le medium le plus relatif en art " J. Albers  Découvrir

Modernist 13 papiers peints - 1 coussin - 1 tirage d'art
Palm

Des créations à la gouache et à l’aquarelle aux designs stylisés Découvrir

Palm 18 papiers peints - 4 coussins - 3 tissus
Boléro

L’âme des nabis semblent souffler sur les motifs de cette collection à la grande force expressive. Une collection de caractère, assurément, qui sourit aux audacieux. Découvrir

Boléro 6 papiers peints
Berlingot

La rayure, un motif indémodable. Motif du diable, emblème des matelots, mais aussi symbole de liberté et d’humour, il y a rayure et rayure comme le souligne le très beau livre de Michel Pastoureau: Rayures. Une histoire culturelle aux éditions du Seuil . Découvrir

Berlingot 44 papiers peints
Tropiques

Une collection voyageuse liée à l’histoire de la botanique. Découvrir

Tropiques 11 papiers peints - 2 coussins - 4 tissus - 2 tirages d'art
Paule Marrot

Pour réaliser cette collection Rétrospective en collaboration étroite avec les éditions Paule Marrot, Notre équipe a retravaillé avec minutie chaque dessin, couleur et peinture présentés ici. Découvrir

Paule Marrot 24 papiers peints
Calypso

L’appel au dépaysement et aux rêves d’exotisme Découvrir

Calypso 6 papiers peints - 1 coussin
Café

Un jeu de l’œil et de l’esprit Découvrir

Café 4 papiers peints
Mo-Jazz

Une collection, un voyage à travers le design du 20e siècle. Découvrir

Mo-Jazz 28 papiers peints - 8 coussins
Aquatique

Une immersion sensorielle dans des motifs organiques et végétaux. Entrez dans un univers sous-marin riche en couleurs et en détails, dans lequel les formes graphiques des végétaux semblent onduler au fil de l’eau. Découvrir

Aquatique 7 papiers peints - 1 coussin
Nelio

Le Presse Papier invite ici le street artiste français Nelio Découvrir

Nelio 4 papiers peints - 1 Panoramique
Paris

« Le monde d'aujourd'hui est né hier, dans les années cinquante et soixante », Dominic Bradbury, Le style années 50, l'intégrale, éditions Parenthèses. Découvrir

Paris 10 papiers peints
Rétro

Le vintage réinterprèté. Découvrir

Rétro 6 papiers peints
Terra Nova

Les modèles de cette collection sont de nature poétique et invitent aux voyages. Découvrir

Terra Nova 9 papiers peints
Capsule / Jieldé

Le Presse Papier & Jieldé présentent le fruit de leur collaboration : une collection capsule de papier peint inspirée de l’univers des cabinets d’architectes. Découvrir

Capsule / Jieldé 3 papiers peints