French designer Wallpaper

If you are looking for designer wallpaper for your interior, you may be searching for a geometric pattern. Or an original hand-drawn layout by an inspired designer. Or even an unusual graphic composition, combined with a high-end linen texture... The definition of designer wallpaper is vague to say the least and takes on a different meaning from one person to another. But whatever your own definition, you should find what you're looking for through our collections.

Le Presse Papier : The love of graphic design and wallpaper

At the origin of our activity, we had above all an unconditional love for graphic arts, architecture and interior design . This passion and our know-how as a printer led us to develop our first creations and we are always committed to working in a spirit of authenticity, originality and visual quality .

Our design process generally works as follows:

  • – From an inspiration which can be an era, a graphic, artistic or musical work… We select a work direction and a visual trend.
  • – The team’s designers Two techniques can be used depending on the desired effect: A crafted by hand traditional drawing or painting, or a digital vector drawing created using graphic design techniques.
  • – Several versions are worked on, corrections and modifications are made before arriving at the final pattern , the result of a discussion within our team.
  • – The colorimetric work then consists of testing the best color matches once the pattern has been digitized (each pattern is initially worked in a certain range of colors). At this time, we are also developing some colored variations to allow the wallpaper to fit into different atmospheres.

On most of our wallpapers, this design work is carried out directly by the Presse Papier team . Occasionally, Le Presse Papier collaborates exclusively with independent artists or graphic designers to create specific models, such as Nélio , Flamingo or Jieldé ,

To find out more about our team of designers and our know-how, visit our Know-how & Technique .

Which wallpaper to choose in a contemporary interior design

Although each era is crossed by different aesthetic trends and several styles coexist at the same time, we can try to define the main features of current contemporary design.

The Scandinavian style remains a reference that is still relevant today: Minimalism and sobriety, light colors and blond wood, geometry of volumes and diffused light.
Mojazz , Paris, Flamingo or Café collections will brighten up a section of wall with their very graphic patterns. Nélio collection will play on its illusions of volume and soft colors.

In contrast to this omnipresent style, the Bohemian style is experiencing growing success.
A return to craftsmanship, handmade, complex textures appear in objects and surfaces, calling on ancestral know-how (ceramics, basketry, linen, textiles, woodworking, etc.) An approach sometimes evoking Japanese culture, where balance is born from powerful contrasts. Botanist , Tradition , Modernist collections can come on the scene and come in different tones. We also recommend our textured linen material which brings its elegant, chic touch and sensitivity to patterns.

And for several years now, the essential retro-chic style, which draws its lines, patterns and colors from the styles of the 30s , 50s and 60s .
Tropiques , Palm , Tradition , Aquatique , Calypso , Paris , Retro collections ... Which will bring a neat and exclusive aesthetic to your interior, thanks to their designed patterns. or hand painted by our team of designers.

Designer wallpaper (Nélio) by Le Presse Papier

 



Design, above all a method of creation

The term design , which is an English word, does not have a perfect translation into French. This may seem anecdotal, but it is the source of much confusion. Etymologically, the term design has the same roots as the French words “ drawing ” but also “ dessein ”. Design therefore deals as much with shape, line, appearance, as with utility, use or application . Situated at the crossroads of art, technology and the human sciences, its most faithful translation would be “design”.

Historically, design is a discipline born during the 20th century, at a time when industrialization gradually replaced craftsmanship. More and more everyday objects were produced by complex machines and processes, in more or less large series. The profession of designer was born from the need to find the optimal shapes, volumes and conditions of use for any object. Design is therefore above all a method of creation which takes place through several stages. It is first of all a matter of identifying the contexts of use of the object, of understanding how it meets the needs of the end user. Different solutions, taking into account technical constraints, are then imagined, then some prototyped before being tested. Once a prototype has been validated, the object can then be mass-produced and distributed to users. The product could then possibly be improved following large-scale user feedback to offer new versions in future series.

This little step back shows that design does not refer to a particular visual style. It is therefore ultimately very strange to talk about “ designer furniture ”: A good design process, applied to furniture, can be applied to varied visual styles depending on fashion, time, context and place.

It is in this sense that theorists and designers separate the notions of design and style. However, in everyday language, the term design is ultimately often used as a synonym for “ contemporary style ” or even “ trend ” and therefore refers to visual styles that vary according to the spirit of the times (a product considered “design” in 2000 has surely lost its status today).

Design and Wallpaper, a great story with many styles

Our designs speak for themselves: the different visual styles of the last century are a huge source of inspiration and wonder for us. Here is a short summary of the graphic trends which have marked the history of decorative arts but also of wallpaper. Some of our patterns are directly inspired by it, others refer to it in a more subtle way. Please note that this is only a short introduction, the subject is extremely vast!

Wallpaper before the industrial revolution

Wallpaper probably originated in China where painters illustrated very large areas of paper entirely manually.
In Europe, it was from the 16th century that wallpaper developed, initially on small surfaces intended to line the interior of furniture or intended for bindings. Dominotry is then the technology used. It was in the 17th century, then in the 18th century, that wallpaper began to be installed on walls and numerous factories developed in France, England, Germany, etc.

At this time we can distinguish several trends:

  • – “Chineseries”, Western reinterpretations of Eastern scenes
  • – Antique-inspired motifs representing pilasters, columns, vases, statues…
  • – Arabesques, floral motifs (naturalistic or more baroque)

From around 1800, we saw the appearance of panoramic wallpapers, complex works representing landscapes (exotic, mountains, countryside, etc.) on several strips in order to cover entire walls. From this point of view, our Nélio works in a similar way (although abstract).

The Arts & Crafts movement: The invention of applied arts

Arts & Crafts movement was born in England . This marks a major turning point in the decorative arts, initiating a philosophy of innovation and the search for new forms. To summarize this style, mainly represented by William Morris , we can say that it revisits medieval Gothic art while drawing inspiration from the forms of nature. Graphically, certain productions are closer to pre-Raphaelite painters, such as Burne-Jones.

Art Nouveau and Art Deco: From plant to geometric

Art Nouveau developed from the 1900s, following on from Arts & Crafts. Taking plants as the main source of inspiration, numerous floral motifs, with fluid and intertwined lines, will be drawn by several artists across Europe. The colors and lines are quite light.

Art Deco , from 1910/1915, re-invited geometry in patterns and lines, gradually producing increasingly refined and abstract creations. The transition between art nouveau and art deco having taken place gradually, we find numerous artistic creations which belong to both styles.

Modernism: Material above all

Modernism, mainly driven by architecture, industry and the heritage of the various artistic avant-gardes of the beginning of the century, saw its peak in the 1930s and marked an important break in the history of arts and techniques. Le Corbusier, Bauhaus, De Stijl and many other creators redefined the place and role of the decorative arts. Favoring functionality, clarity, geometry, modern architecture separates itself from decoration and favors raw materials and color to the detriment of patterns. The wallpaper then develops effects of materials and textures, some minimalist geometric patterns and a monochrome shade.

1950s: The reappearance of patterns

The 1950s marked the reappearance of patterns, whether figurative or abstract. We revisit classic subjects such as flowers and plants, in the light of visual experiments in 20th century art. Artists like Matisse, Léger, Dufy, Delaunay, inspire spontaneous and colorful design patterns.

1970s: Psychedelia, exuberance, kinetic art and optical art

The 1970s were marked above all by the predominance of a very particular colored range, featuring shades of ochre, orange, yellow and brown.
In terms of patterns, two styles of graphic design coexisted:

  • – Exuberant floral arrangements, with many rounded shapes, sometimes reinterpreting the early days of Art Nouveau, or even Arts & Crafts.
  • – Abstract geometric patterns, directly from the artistic trends of optical art and kinetic art, playing on optical illusions and visual surprises.


80s: The eccentricity of Memphis style

Having come back in force recently, this style was born under the leadership of the famous designer Ettore Sottsass at the very beginning of the 1980s. Resolutely linked to the Pop Art aesthetic, Memphis brought experimentation, spontaneity and a certain playful approach to the object design and decoration. From a graphic point of view, the basic geometric shapes (circle, triangle, lines, points) are associated with a palette of bright colors, used in flat areas, without textures.

There would of course be many other styles and subgenres to describe if one wanted to establish an exhaustive list. Especially since this summary only focuses on wallpaper design in Europe and other visual trends developed in parallel in different world cultures.

 

Collections

Tradition

A collection of wallpapers reflecting our infinite passion for art. Discover

Tradition 126 wallpapers - 2 cushions - 12 fabrics - 11 art prints
Botaniste

The tradition of Lyon floral textile design. Discover

Botaniste 37 wallpapers - 3 Fabrics
Moderniste

The Modernist wallpaper collection is a free journey into the philosophical movement of the same name. “Color is the most relative medium in art” J. Albers Discover

Moderniste 13 wallpapers - 1 cushion - 1 art print
Palm

Gouache and watercolor creations with stylized designs Discover

Palm 18 wallpapers - 4 cushions - 3 fabrics
Bolero

The Nabis's soul seems to breathe through the patterns of this collection with its great expressive force. A collection of character, certainly, which favors the bold. Discover

Bolero 6 wallpapers
Berlingot

Stripes, a timeless pattern. Motif of the devil, emblem of sailors, but also symbol of freedom and humor, there are stripes and stripes as highlighted by Michel Pastoureau in his book: Rayures. Une histoire culturelle published by Editions du Seuil. Discover

Berlingot 39 wallpapers
Tropiques

A collection linked to travel and impregnated of history of botany. Discover

Tropiques 11 wallpapers - 2 cushions - 4 fabrics - 2 art prints
Paule Marrot

To create this Retrospective collection in close collaboration with Paule Marrot editions, our team meticulously reworked each drawing, color and painting presented here. Discover

Paule Marrot 24 wallpapers
Calypso

A call for a change of scenery and dreams of exoticism Discover

Calypso 6 wallpapers - 1 cushion
Café

A game for the eye a trick for the mind Discover

Café 4 wallpapers
Mo-Jazz

A collection, a journey through 20th century design. Discover

Mo-Jazz 28 wallpapers - 8 cushions
Aquatique

A sensory immersion in organic and plant motifs. Enter an underwater world filled with colors and details, in which the graphic shapes of plants seem to undulate along the water. Discover

Aquatique 7 wallpapers - 1 cushion
Nelio

Le Presse Papier invites French street artist Nelio Discover

Nelio 4 wallpapers - 1 Panoramic
Paris

“The world of today was born yesterday, in the fifties and sixties”, Dominic Bradbury, The 50s style, the complete, Parentheses editions. Discover

Paris 10 wallpapers
Rétro

Vintage reinterpreted. Discover

Rétro 6 wallpapers
Terra Nova

The models in this collection are naturally poetic and invite you to travel. Discover

Terra Nova 9 wallpapers
Capsule / Jieldé

Le Presse Papier & Jieldé present a capsule collection of wallpaper inspired by the world of architectural firms. Discover

Capsule / Jieldé 3 wallpapers

Si vous recherchez pour votre intérieur un « papier peint design », il se pourrait que vous cherchiez un motif géométrique. Ou bien un tracé original dessiné à la main par un designer inspiré. Ou encore une composition graphique hors du commun, associée à une texture lin haut-de-gamme… La définition d’un papier peint design est pour le moins floue et prend un sens différent d’une personne à une autre. Mais quelle que soit votre propre définition, vous devriez trouver votre bonheur dans une ou plusieurs de nos collections.

Le Presse Papier : L’amour du design graphique et du Papier Peint

A l’origine de notre activité nous avions avant tout un amour inconditionnel pour les arts graphiques, l’architecture et la décoration d’intérieur. Cette passion et notre savoir-faire d’imprimeur, nous ont amenés à développer nos premières créations et nous avons toujours à cœur de travailler dans un esprit d’authenticité, d’originalité et de qualité visuelle.

Notre processus de design se déroule globalement de la manière suivante :

  • – A partir d’une inspiration qui peut être une époque, une œuvre graphique, artistique ou musicale… Nous déterminons un axe de travail et une tendance visuelle.
  • Les designers de l’équipe élaborent alors les motifs. Deux techniques peuvent être employées selon l’effet souhaité : Un dessin ou une peinture traditionnelle, réalisée à la main ou un tracé vectoriel réalisé sur ordinateur selon les techniques de design graphique.
  • – Plusieurs versions sont travaillées, des corrections et des modifications sont apportées avant d’arriver au motif final, fruit d’une discussion au sein de notre équipe.
  • – Le travail colorimétrique consiste ensuite à tester les meilleurs accords de couleurs une fois le motif numérisé (chaque motif est initialement travaillé dans une certaine gamme de couleurs). A ce moment là, nous élaborons également quelques déclinaisons colorées afin de permettre au papier peint de s’intégrer dans des ambiances différentes.

Sur la plupart de nos papiers peints, ce travail de design est effectué directement par l’équipe du Presse Papier. Ponctuellement, Le Presse Papier collabore en exclusivité avec des artistes ou des designers graphiques indépendants pour créer des modèles spécifiques, comme Nélio, Flamingo ou Jieldé,

Pour en savoir plus sur notre équipe de designers et notre savoir-faire, visitez notre page Savoir-faire & Technique.

Quel Papier Peint choisir dans un intérieur au design contemporain

Bien que chaque époque soit traversée de courants esthétiques différents et que plusieurs styles cohabitent en même temps, on peut tenter de définir les principaux traits du design contemporain actuel.

Le style scandinave reste une référence toujours d’actualité : Minimalisme et sobriété, teintes claires et bois blond, géométrie des volumes et lumière diffuse.
Dans ce style, les collections Mojazz, Paris, Flamingo ou Café égaieront un pan de mur de leurs motifs très graphiques. Plus osée, la collection Nélio jouera de ses illusions de volumes et de ses couleurs douces.

A contre-pied de ce style omniprésent, le style Bohème connait un succès grandissant. Un retour de l’artisanat, du fait-main, des textures complexes s’invitent dans les objets et les surfaces, faisant appel aux savoirs-faire ancestraux (céramique, vannerie, lin, textile, travail du bois…) Une approche évoquant parfois la culture japonaise, où l’équilibre naît des puissants contrastes.
Pour créer une ambiance dans cet esprit, les collections Botanist, Tradition, Modernist peuvent entrer en scène et se décliner en différentes tonalités. Nous vous conseillons par ailleurs, notre matière texturée lin qui apporte sa touche élégante, chic et une sensibilité aux motifs.

Et depuis quelques années maintenant, l’incontournable style rétro-chic, qui puise ses lignes, motifs et couleurs dans les styles des années 30, 50 et 60.
Ces courants inspirés du passé sont très représentés dans nos créations, vous pourrez trouver votre bonheur dans les collections Tropiques, Palm, Tradition, Aquatique, Calypso, Paris, Retro… Qui apporteront à votre intérieur une esthétique soignée et exclusive, grâce à leurs motifs dessinés ou peints à la main par notre équipe de designers.

Papier peint design (Nélio) par Le Presse Papier

 



 


Le design, avant tout une méthode de création


 

Le terme design qui est un mot anglais, n’a pas de traduction parfaite en français. Cela peut paraître anecdotique, mais c’est la source de nombreuses confusions. Étymologiquement, le terme design possède des mêmes racines que les mots français « dessin » mais aussi « dessein ». Le design traite donc autant de la forme, de la ligne, de l’aspect, que de l’utilité, de l’utilisation ou de la mise en application. Se situant à la croisée de l’art, de la technique et des sciences humaines, sa traduction la plus fidèle serait « conception ».

Historiquement, le design est une discipline née au cours du 20ème siècle, à une époque où l’industrialisation remplaçait progressivement l’artisanat. De plus en plus d’objets quotidiens ont été produits par des machines et des procédés complexes, en plus ou moins grandes séries. La profession de designer est née du besoin de trouver les formes, les volumes, les conditions d’utilisations optimales pour un objet quel qu’il soit. Le design est donc avant tout une méthode de création qui se déroule par plusieurs étapes. Il s’agit tout d’abord de cerner les contextes d’utilisation de l’objet, de comprendre comment il répond aux besoins de l’utilisateur final. Différentes solutions, en tenant compte des contraintes techniques sont alors imaginées, puis certaines prototypées avant d’être testées. Une fois un prototype validé, l’objet pourra alors être produit en série et diffusé auprès des utilisateurs. Le produit pourra alors éventuellement être amélioré suite aux retours des utilisateurs à grande échelle pour proposer de nouvelles versions lors des prochaines séries.

Ce petit retour en arrière montre bien que le design ne fait pas référence à un style visuel particulier. Il est donc finalement très étrange de parler de « mobilier design » : Un bon processus de design, appliqué au mobilier, pourra s’appliquer à des styles visuels variés selon la mode, l’époque, le contexte et le lieu.

C’est en ce sens que les théoriciens et les designers séparent les notions de design et de style. Cependant dans le langage courant, le terme design est finalement souvent utilisé en synonyme de « style contemporain » ou encore de « tendance » et fait donc référence à des styles visuels variables selon l’air du temps (un produit considéré comme « design » en 2000 a sûrement perdu son statut aujourd’hui).

 


Design et Papier Peint, une grande histoire aux nombreux styles


 

Nos motifs parlent d’eux-mêmes : les différents styles visuels du siècle dernier sont pour nous une immense source d’inspiration et d’émerveillement. Voici un petit résumé des tendances graphiques qui ont marqué l’histoire des arts décoratifs mais également du papier peint. Certains de nos motifs en sont directement inspirés, d’autres y font référence de manière plus subtile. Notez bien qu’il ne s’agit que d’une petite introduction, le sujet est extrêmement vaste !

Le papier peint avant la révolution industrielle

Le papier peint trouve vraisemblablement son origine en Chine où les peintres illustraient de très grandes surfaces de papier de manière entièrement manuelle.
En Europe, c’est à partir du XVIème siècle, que le papier peint se développe, au départ sur de petites surfaces destinées à tapisser l’intérieur de meubles ou destinés aux reliures. La dominoterie est alors la technologie employée. C’est au XVIIème, puis au XVIIIème siècle, que l’on commence a installer le papier peint sur les murs et de nombreuses manufactures se développent en France, en Angleterre, en Allemagne…

A cette époque on distingue plusieurs tendances :

  • – Les « chinoiseries », réinterprétations occidentales de scènes orientales
  • – Les motifs d’inspiration antiques représentant pilastres, colonnes, vases, statues…
  • – Les arabesques, motifs floraux (naturalistes ou plus baroques)

A partir de 1800 environ, on voit apparaître les papiers peints panoramiques, œuvres complexes représentant des paysages (exotiques, montagnes, campagnes…) sur plusieurs lés afin de recouvrir des murs entiers. De ce point de vue, notre collection Nélio fonctionne de manière similaire (bien qu’étant abstrait).

Le mouvement Arts & Crafts : L’invention des arts appliqués

A la fin du XIXème siècle, naît en Angleterre le mouvement Arts & Crafts. Celui-ci amorce un tournant majeur dans les arts décoratifs, initiant une philosophie d’innovation et de recherche de nouvelles formes. Pour résumer ce style, principalement représenté par William Morris, on peut dire qu’il revisite l’art gothique médiéval tout en s’inspirant des formes de la nature. Graphiquement, certaines productions se rapprochent des peintres pré-raphaélites, comme Burne-Jones.

Art nouveau et Art déco : Du végétal au géométrique

L’Art nouveau se développe à partir des années 1900, dans la continuité d’Arts & Crafts. Prenant les végétaux pour principale source d’inspiration, de nombreux motifs floraux, aux lignes fluides et entrelacées, seront dessinés par plusieurs artistes à travers l’Europe. Les couleurs et les lignes sont assez légères.

L’Art déco, à partir de 1910/1915, ré-invite la géométrie dans les motifs et les tracés, produisant progressivement des créations de plus en plus épurées et abstraites. La transition entre l’art nouveau et l’art déco s’étant faite progressivement, on trouve de nombreuses créations artistiques qui appartiennent aux deux styles.

Le modernisme : La matière avant tout

Le modernisme, principalement porté par l’architecture, l’industrie et l’héritage des diverses avant-gardes artistiques du début du siècle, voit son apogée dans les années 30 et marquera une rupture importante dans l’histoire des arts et techniques. Le Corbusier, le Bauhaus, De Stijl et bien d’autres créateurs ont redéfini la place et le rôle des arts décoratifs. Privilégiant la fonctionnalité, la clarté, la géométrie, l’architecture moderne se sépare de la décoration et privilégie les matières brutes et la couleur au détriment des motifs. Le papier peint développe alors des effets de matières et de textures, quelques motifs géométriques minimalistes et une teinte monochrome.

Années 50 : La réapparition des motifs

Les années 1950 marquent la réapparition des motifs, qu’ils soient figuratifs ou abstraits. On revisite les sujets classiques comme les fleurs et végétaux, à la lumière des expérimentations visuelles de l’art du XXème siècle. Des artistes comme Matisse, Léger, Dufy, Delaunay, inspirent des motifs au design spontané et coloré.

Années 70 : Psychédélisme, exubérance, art cinétique et art optique

Les années 70 furent marquées avant tout par la prédominance d’une gamme colorée bien particulière, déclinant les teintes d’ocre, d’orange, de jaune et de brun.
Au niveau des motifs, deux styles de design graphique ont cohabité :

  • – Des compositions florales exubérantes, aux nombreuses formes arrondies, réinterprétant parfois les jeunes heures de l’Art Nouveau, voire des Arts & Crafts.
  • – Des motifs abstraits géométriques, directement issus des courants artistiques de l’art optique et de l’art cinétique, jouant sur les illusions d’optique et les surprises visuelles.


Années 80 : L’excentricité du style Memphis

Revenu en force dernièrement, ce style est né sous l’impulsion du célèbre designer Ettore Sottsass au tout début des années 1980. Résolument lié à l’esthétique Pop Art, Memphis a amené l’expérimentation, la spontanéité et une certaine approche ludique dans le design d’objet et la décoration. D’un point de vue graphique, les formes géométriques de base (cercle, triangle, traits, points) sont associées à une palette de couleurs vives, utilisées en aplats, sans textures.

Il y aurait bien sûr de nombreux autres styles et sous-genres à décrire si l’on voulait établir une liste exhaustive. D’autant plus que ce résumé  ne s’intéresse qu’au design du papier peint en Europe et d’autres tendances visuelles se sont développées en parallèle dans les différentes cultures mondiales.